It’s Been a While

6 Jan

I know it’s been forever since my last update, but so much has happened since my last post that’s been outside of the knitting world.  Of course I’ve been continuing to work my needles nightly, there was a period of two weeks where a good friend of mine that I haven’t seen for five years came into town.  He’s been with the US Navy for the past year and a half, and he finally got a chance to come back home for a bit to visit.  He was supposed to come out last March/April, but the earthquake in Japan, where he is stationed, happened just two days before he was supposed to leave, so the Navy ended up keeping him and sending him to Guam, forcing him to postpone his visit.  It was so worth the wait.

Most of the stuff I knit during the time he was here…actually the two items I knit during the time he was here, went to him.  A watchcap (which I’m determined to make more of after seeing the results) and a pair of wrist warmers that I made in a greenish camoflauge color–I noticed it should have been blue after giving it to him, but I figured a little ‘army strong’ wouldn’t hurt anything.  😉

He left on the day after Christmas, back to Japan.  Sad day.

I knit up a few more wristwarmers for The Marketplace, delivered them, and picked up my second ‘paycheck’ from there, which was a great christmas bonus…not to mention I found out that I got a raise at work on New Years Eve.  j

2012 is starting off to be a great year!  I hope this year will bless all of you with good things!

what say you?

